Govt. Ayurveda Medical College & Hospital

GovtMysore, Karnataka
About College

The Government Ayurveda Medical College and Hospital, (est. 1908) in Mysore is a government run Ayurveda (traditional Indian medicine) college and hospital. It is considered to be to the oldest academic institute in India teaching Ayurvedic medicine.

The college offers undergraduate courses leading to a Bachelor of Ayurvedic Medicine and Surgery (BAMS) degree and post-graduate courses leading to a Doctor of Medicine (MD) degree in the fields of Ayurveda Siddhantha or Ayurveda Kayachikitsa. In 2018 two new pg department started in panchakarama and swasthavritta.

College nameEstablished yearTypeIntake
Govt. Ayurveda Medical College & Hospital1908Government-

The college is affiliated with the Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences in Bangalore, a unitary university set up in 1996 by the government of Karnataka for the regulation and promotion of higher education in health sciences throughout the state. It also adheres to all the regulations for education in traditional medicine laid down by the Central Council of Indian Medicine (CCIM), New Delhi.

The college is attached to a 175-bed hospital. Ayurvedic treatment is given to the public, free of charge, particularly for ailments such as paralysis, skin disorders, hepatitis, asthma, joint pain, and jaundice. Apart from Ayurveda, there are separate departments for Unani and Homeopathy treatment, and Yoga.


Contact Details:

Address: Visvesvaraya Cir, Devaraja Mohalla, 

Mandi Mohalla, Mysuru, Karnataka 570001

Phone: 0821 244 3701

  • c
  • v
  • v
  • Admission Process

    The Unani admissions for Government colleges admission process is as mentioned below:

    Course Duration:

     5 ½ Years (Study Period – 4 ½ Years + Compulsory Rotating Internship 1 Year). Students will have 4 professional exams within a duration of 4.5 years and a compulsory rotating internship for 1 year. medical colleges in Karnataka states are regulated as per the rules and regulations of the Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Science which is also known as RGUHS, Bangalore. 

    Seat Distribution:

    1. 15% AIQ (All India Quota)

    AACCC will be doing Counselling for a minimum of 15% AIQ seats for Government, Government aided Central Universities, National Institutes, Private colleges and 100% seats for Deemed Universities. 


    1. There will be three rounds of AIQ online Counseling i.e. Round 1, Round 2, Round 3/Mop Up Round.
    2. The seats remaining vacant under AIQ after 3rd /Mop-Up Round of AACCC Counseling shall be transferred/ sent back to the respective states.

    For more details please visit the website at

    Important Notification - 

    2. 85% state Government Quota (KEA)

    The responsibility of KEA is limited to the conduct of Counseling, which includes online registration, document verification, online Counseling procedure, seat allotment and issue of admission order as per Government Rules. The candidates who wish to seek admission to Medical or Dental or Ayurveda or Unani or Homoeopathy courses in Karnataka must compulsorily qualify in UGNEET  (National Eligibility cum Entrance Test) exam conducted NTA, New Delhi. The candidates who qualify in the UGNEET exam will only get the eligibility for admission to Medical or Dental or AYUSH courses through KEA for Government share of seats subject to fulfilling the eligibility clauses of rule 5 of CET-2006 rules. 


    1. KEA Counseling is conducted in Three Round (Round 1, Round 2, and Mop-up Round).
    2. In the final College Round -List of ten times (of the registered candidates) of a number of Stray vacancies will be sent to private college which is to be exhausted strictly in order of merit.

    For more details please visit the website at

    Eligibility For Admission

    • A candidate must have passed the PUC or its equivalent examination with English as one of the languages and Physics, Chemistry & Biology as optional subjects with not less than 50% of marks in aggregate in the Science subjects (Physics, Chemistry & Biology).
    • Candidate should have attained the age of 17 years on or before 31st December of the year of his/her admission.
    • In  order to be eligible for admission to the undergraduate course for an academic year,  it shall be necessary for the candidate to obtain a minimum of marks at  50th percentile in the National Eligibility Entrance Test (NEET) conducted by an authority designated by the  Central government,  for  the undergraduate course held for the said academic year.
    • Candidate belonging to the  SC/ST/OBC  the minimum marks shall be at  40th percentile. Candidate  with  benchmarks  disabilities  as  specified  under  the  rights  of  the persons with Disabilities act, 2016 (49 of 2016),  the minimum marks  shall  be at 45th percentile for General category and 40th percentile for the  SC/ST/OBC
    • For  Foreign national candidates any other equivalent qualification to be approved by the Central Government may allow, and entrance examination for admission to undergraduate courses namely NEET shall not be applicable for the Foreign national candidates.
    • Only those students who have qualified NATIONAL ELIGIBILITY CUM ENTRANCE TEST [NEET UG 2021] conducted by NTA are eligible for admission either through Merit, Management, or NRI quota.
    Apply Now!


    Have a question?
    Let us know

    This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.


    No. 139, 1st B Cross, 6th Block, BEL Layout, Vidyaranyapura Last Bus Stop, Bangalore, Karnataka - 560097

    7406244111 | 8884499765

    We speak Hindi, English, Telugu, Tamil & Kannada.

    © 2023  

    Developed by